Meditation and Dharma Talks Every Sunday and Wednesday Night

Read More

Walk to Feed the Hungry Saturday, September 30

Join Eugene Cash, Pamela Weiss and others from our local Buddhist community for the 2017 San Francisco Walk to Feed the Hungry. These walks raise awareness and funds for Buddhist Global Relief which was inspired by Bhikkhu Bodhi to combat hunger and malnutrition.

Read More

Get Intimate with San Francisco Insight

Sign up on our e-mailing list to hear about upcoming classes and ways to stay connected with your SFI Sangha.

Read More

Upcoming Teachers: Sunday, August 20 - Kim Shelton || Wednesday, August 23 - Pamela Weiss || Sunday, August 27 - Eugene Cash || Wednesday, August 30 - NO MEETING (CHURCH CLOSED) || Sunday, September 3 - Ayya Santussika || Wednesday, September 6 - Pamela Weiss || Sunday, September 10 - Eugene Cash || Wednesday, September 13 - Pamela Weiss || Sunday, September 17 - Eugene Cash || Wednesday, September 20 - Pamela Weiss || Sunday, September 24 - Eugene Cash || Wednesday, September 27 - Pamela Weiss || Saturday, September 30 - Walk to Feed the Hungry (See Calendar for Details) - Sunday, October 1 - Eugene Cash

San Francisco Insight

The San Francisco Insight Meditation Community is dedicated to offering the teachings of the Buddha as they develop in the West. Our orientation is toward intensive lay practice. We offer classes, meditation retreats and other events as a community (sangha) devoted to the embodiment of awakening in our lives.

Where and When We Meet

We meet every Sunday evening from 7pm to 9pm in the Starr King Room, and every Wednesday evening from 7pm to 9pm in the Fireside Room of the First Unitarian Universalist Church of San Francisco, located at 1187 Franklin Street at the corner of Geary Blvd. Get directions, find parking, or view map. Our meetings begin with a 45–minute meditation, followed by a talk and discussion.

Classes and Retreats

We regularly offer a variety of beginning meditation courses providing basic Buddhist meditation instructions, Buddhist teachings, and practical suggestions for applying these teachings to our daily lives. We also offer daylong meditation retreats to deepen and mature our practice. Community members are encouraged to engage in intensive meditation retreats at Spirit Rock Meditation Center in Marin County with Eugene or other Spirit Rock teachers.

Sign up to receive our e-newsletter.

You can also join our lightly moderated community bulletin board.